Writing Themes

What is theme in writing? Universal truths? Beliefs?

We read for escape, adventure, excitement, knowledge, a satisfying story, but what binds it altogether? It should be the theme.

We’ve all heard about man vs.man, good vs. evil, and man vs.nature, no doubt. That’s because they’re good, universal themes.

But on the detailed level, think about what in particular you like to read about, or write about if you’re also an author. That can give you deeper insight as to who you are and why you’ve become who you are.

I hadn’t considered this when I wrote my two books, ERIN’S MISSION and HEALING JOURNEY. But now, as I look back, I realize even in my titles, the word “mission” and “journey” speak a little about me. I’ve blogged before about liking to travel and about writing in particular settings. However, on a deeper level, I’ve seen my own and others’ life journeys and missions, so to speak, and they’ve come out in my writing.

So next time you read a book that really resonates with you, ask yourself why.

I’d love to hear from writers and readers what books have touched your heart.

Happy reading!7d583e65-b35f-44a2-92ba-efcaae95b35e

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Themes

  1. Pingback: Writing Themes | The Write Inspiration

  2. Pingback: Writing Themes | Ellen Kelleher's Author Blog

Comments are closed.