Palm Trees, Heathcote Botanical Garden

I once remember Katherine Hepburn stating in a television interview that if she were a tree, it would be a strong oak. Perfect for her, I thought.

Although I live in the Midwest where oaks and various deciduous trees are in abundance, I would choose the palm as my tree. I like that it’s flexible, has many variations, thrives in warm weather, and has fronds that whisper in the wind.

Does that describe me? To an extent, yes.

More important, it’s amazing how nature can affect our feelings, moods and ideas, even inspire us to write, whether in a diary, journal or novel. Case in point, Heathcote Botanical Gardens in Fort Pierce, Florida is one of the settings in my novel to be released late this spring.

But there are many things that inspire us in life and in the world. I hope to share more of them with you.

 

